Since Love is in the Air

drake-and-gina-edited

Hil and I recently got to help with the planning and decorating of my in-laws 50th wedding anniversary. I can’t express the honor and blessing it was for me to get to be a part of that wonderful event. I have known my in-laws since my husband and I met (and started dating) at the youthful age of 14. (crazy, I know!) Their marriage is the kind that gives hope to anyone struggling in the reality that marriage doesn’t always play out like we see on TV. They have shown it takes work, grace, and effort to keep a relationship strong for 50 years and counting! I am so thankful for their example of never giving up, and giving each day to the Lord, to help them be better for each other and their family.

So when my husband and I, with his siblings decided to throw them a big party to celebrate, my wheels got to spinning! What I could to make their celebration as beautiful and meaningful as possible while keeping to a set budget? That tends to be my motto when it comes to decorating, so this was the perfect opportunity to try it in a larger scale scenario.

Before getting started, I checked in with my mother-in-law, whom I absolutely adore and whose friendship to me is priceless. She has great taste and an eye for decorating. She gave me a few ideas that she thought would be fun and we took it from there.

We used this beautiful picture of her and Drake leaving their reception as the inspiration for the decorations and displays.

Drake and Gina 1965

The cute couple, Drake and Gina 1965

We went with the color scheme of black, white, and gold.

Gina's dress was hand made by her mother!

Gina’s dress was hand made by her mother!

Here is a shot of the display table we set up that featured pictures of Drake and Gina, their beginning, and spanning their young budding family until present. We set out their wedding invitation, a cake server that had been Gina’s mom’s, and champagne glasses from her daughter’s wedding to be used during a toast that night.

edited-table-end

We displayed their wedding album with pictures from their special day 50 years ago.

display-full

You can see a peek at the table center pieces which we kept simple with candles enclosed in glass hurricanes and mason jars with Babies Breath and lemons.

display-right-side

We filled the table with family pictures that highlighted special memories spanning 50 years.

chalkboard-sign

It was fun to display prices of common items, popular music, and statistics from 1965, the year they were married.

close-up-gold-sign

Using chalkboard paint over a thrift store frame, we made a custom sign they could have as a keepsake after the celebration.

full-length

centerpiece

We used mason jars borrowed from a friend and filled them with lemons and water.

signature-photo

Using a frame and matting purchased for only a few dollars from the thrift store we were able to create a pretty guest book keepsake.

We had the black and white picture of them enlarged and framed with matting so that all the guests could sign it when they arrived. It was so special to have their family and friends share fond stories and memories of the sweet couple. I am so thankful for the opportunity to get to be a part of honoring them, and pray that I will one day get to celebrate my own 50th wedding anniversary with my husband!

We wish everyone a Happy Valentines Day! We will do another post with a few tutorials on inexpensive party favors, the custom chalkboard sign, and other party details we made on a budget. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

