Mid-Century Kitchen

dscn2252

I am a huge fan of Ikea kitchens.  I know that there are a lot of great cabinet options out there, but this is my second kitchen remodel I have used Ikea for and I am so happy. The downside of Ikea is the kitchen planning phase can be a bit of a nightmare.  Expect to use their kitchen planning tool to the point of pure madness!  If you time your renovation right, they occasionally offer a discount of 15% on all your kitchen purchases (YAY!).

Just a quick look back at what our kitchen originally looked like.

image image

 

 

We wanted to open up the space and add some more storage and counter space. After much debate, we decided on our floor design and tile. We vascilated between white and gray cabinets quite a bit.

img_1800 img_1729

img_1676

We chose to install our tile in a herringbone pattern to add visual interest without adding a patterned or printed tile.

 

 

 

 

dscn2272

Here is the final product. I am so happy with the way it turned out!

dscn2252

dscn2241

dscn2248

 

dscn2236dscn2244Our kitchen is not huge, so we painted the walls and ceiling “Sneaker White” by Ralph Lauren.  All white walls and ceilings make a room seem larger.  Plus, like a blank canvas, any color you add pops!

 

 

dscn2254

 

The botanical prints and frames are also from Ikea.

dscn2231

I am a huge fan of a open kitchen, so I did not install upper cabinets.  I didn’t even want floating shelves.  The minimalist look helps me keep the kitchen visually “clean”. I added a floor to ceiling pantry on the side wall of the kitchen for additional storage.

dscn2268

cropped-img_7593.jpg

dscn2261

 

If you would like to see where I got my inspiration please click here to view my Pinterest “Kitchen” tab. I hope you enjoyed the transformation!

 

Leave a Reply

