DIY Door Turned Headboard

DIY door turned headboard

DIY door turned headboard

My husband and I were high school sweethearts and I married this wonderful man when I was 19 years old. I know! Crazy. Needless to say, I was young and had no clue what my decorative style was when we moved into our first apartment. Over the 14 years we have been married my style has changed quite a bit. As young as we were we had very little money starting off and most of our furniture came from thrift stores and Ikea. (Funny that though our income has changed a bit I still buy most of my furniture at thrift stores and garage sales :)) The first furniture purchase we made from a real furniture store (Levitz, are those even around anymore?) was our bed. It was a nice sleigh bed, but over the years I grew tired of the stain color and wood detail on the headboard. Painting just wasn’t going to do it for me. I needed a whole style change.

So when we took out and unused door in my son’s room I knew that I had found my new headboard and at a price my hubby couldn’t argue with, FREE! I was so excited to take this project on for him.  😉

Before

Here is our bedroom before the headboard transformation.

 

And here is how we made our new headboard…

We started with a plain door

We started with a plain door and added two 4×4″ posts to the back of it, secured by heavy duty screws. We measured the post to the height we wanted  the headboard to stand above the mattress.

Here is the view of the support beam from the back of the headboard.

Here is the view of the support beam from the back of the headboard.

Next we measured and cut moulding to cover the front of the door and wrap around the sides of it.

Next we measured and cut moulding to cover the front of the door and wrap around the sides of it.

We wood glued the moulding to the door and used a clamp to secure it.

We wood glued the moulding to the door and used a clamp to secure it.

Then we used a nail gun to tack the board in place.

Then we used a finishing nail gun to tack the board in place.

top view of beam on back of door and the moulding attached to the door

Here is the top view of the support beam on the back of door and the moulding attached to the door

We topped the bed frame with a 2x4" wood board cut to the same length as the door.

We topped the bed frame with a 2×4″ wood board cut to the same length as the door.

We secured the board to the moulding and beams using wood glue and a nail gun

We secured the board to the moulding and beams using wood glue and a nail gun

Here is the view from the back of the headboard.

The space between the top board and the support beam was closed when the glue and nail gun were used.

Apply caulk to all the seams to cover up any gaps and create a smooth look.

Apply caulk to all the seams to cover up any gaps and create a smooth look.

Here is the finished headboard, painted and given a distressed finish.

Here is the finished headboard, painted in Benjamin Moore Cloud White and given a distressed finish using a hand sander and stain pen.

 

finished headboard straight shot

finished headboard side shot

finished headboard at angle

finished headboard close up

I hope this tutorial was helpful. I will post pictures of the headboard in my newly painted and updated bedroom very soon. Before I can do that I need to actually make my bed. Until then, I hope my project inspires you to try a furniture update of your own. I am so happy with how unique and classic this door-turned-headboard turned out and thrilled it cost only a few dollars in materials. Can’t beat that!

Leave a Reply

