4 Simple Things to Upgrade a Room

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I walk through a room in my house and give a big sigh (thinking of the many things I would change or do to the room if only there were enough time in the day) and then keep walking to some other pressing task (like getting my kids a snack 15 minutes after I just finished cleaning up from dinner…. But I digress).  So today I when I walked through my dining room I decided to engage it and make a few simple changes. It’s not perfect, but perfect is not reality. It is functional, clean and peaceful, and I can live with that.

Step 1: Clean up Clutter

I know this one feels fairly obvious, but it is one of the quickest ways to change the feel of a room. This summer I have decided to simplify by getting rid of at least 5 bags of “stuff”. Stuff I will no longer have to pick up and put away. It’s also stuff I won’t need to dust or clean. I don’t want to spend my life managing things so I am trying to cut back. If you can walk through a room and deal with the clutter, you will find the other steps are just icing on the cake.

Clutter on counters and tables just makes the room feel disorganized and crowded. Clean off the counter space.

Clutter on counters and tables just makes the room feel disorganized and crowded. Clean off the counter space.

 

Step 2:  Hang Pictures

Hanging pictures can be overwhelming to a lot of people. I have hesitated to hang pictures and finally asked my husband to help me make sure things were level and straight and get some pictures on the wall. When we started the task I kept adjusting where the pictures should hang.  My husband sweetly said “What’s the big deal? We can always move them”. I know this is true but putting a needless hole in the wall (which will then need to be patched, sanded and painted) just felt like something to be avoided.  Once you hang art on your wall and finish de-cluttering you will see a drastic improvement in the look of the room.

Well placed art makes a huge difference.

Well placed art makes a huge difference.

 

Step 3: Add Accent Pillows

There are so many inexpensive, great pillows available to buy, or make. I bought new pillow covers at IKEA and put them over worn pillows I already had. They were $10 each and I can rotate them with other pillow covers for different seasons. Quick and very easy, but high visual impact.

A new cushion cover from IKEA refreshes a tired looking pillow

A new cushion cover from IKEA refreshes a tired looking pillow

 

Step 4: Pick One Area of the Room and Make it Beautiful

The title of this step is vague, but let me explain. It would be fun (and amazing) to have the time and income to make your whole room beautiful.  If you have one area that looks great, it is easy to enjoy the whole room. For example, staging shelves in  a way that is both stylish and functional, arranging a tray on a coffee table, or making an eye-catching mantle arrangement. These are small changes that can make a room feel new.

 

Focus on taming one area.

Focus on taming one area.

Happy Decorating!

 

Leave a Reply

